Prose

Dead Poets Society

I went to the woods because I wanted to live deliberately.

I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life.

To put to rout all that was not life;

And not when I came to die,

Discover that I had not lived.

– DPS

 

This is one of my favorite quotations in the movie Dead Poets Society. This inspiring and somehow heartbreaking movie was showed in 1989, ten years before the year I was born. I’ve never known or ever heard about this movie until I made a Tumblr account and a blog that I am following let us guess what movie featured the lines..

“We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. Medicine, Law, Business, Engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for.”

After I have read those, I was like..
What the eff is this movie?! I am in love with the words. It gave me the chills. I’ve never encountered such lines.

3 thoughts on “Dead Poets Society”

  1. Being someone that follows a ton of poetry blogs in several social platforms, I’ve seen and heard a lot of good things about this movie (…and yeah, Tumblr really, really loves this movie, haha).

    …but I have not seen it yet, and each day that I don’t (especially when I read posts like these) I feel like I’m committing a sin. :/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

